PO Box 104, The Plains, VA 20198

Architectural Review Board

Archectural Review Board Members

Georgia Herbert - Term expires July 2022

Marcia M. Markey, Chair - Term expires July 2022

Robin Melton, Secretary - Term expires July 2022

Victoria Atkins - Term expires July 2022

Robert E. Hale - Term expires July 2023

Architectural Reveiw Board (ARB) members are appointed by the Town Council for a four-year term.  The ARB meets monthly on the first Monday of each month at 7:00 p.m.  Meetings are held on the first floor of John Turner Paige Community Center located on Main Street. 

The ARB meets on an as needed basis depending upon the applications submitted for review and requests for a Certificate of Appropriatness.  To request to be place on the ARB meeting schedule please contact the Secretary of the ARB or the Town of The Plains, PO Box 104, The Plains, VA 20198, Phone/Fax 540-364-4945.  Please provide drawings and other related information a week in advance of the regular meeting to assure being placed on the agenda. 

Prior to issuance of a building or sign permit for any work within the Historic District a Certificate of Appropriatness may be required.  The Historic District covers every property within the Town.